Oscars 2018: Everything You Need To Know

Oscars 2018
LOS ANGELES, FEB 24TH, 2017: Giant Oscar ad featuring host Jimmy Kimmel and a golden statue on a red background against the blue sky on the outside of the Hollywood and Highland mall. (Alex Millauer / Shutterstock.com)

Oscars 2018: Here is everything you need to know!

The Academy Awards, also known as the Oscars are back. The awards include 24 awards for artistic and technical merit in the American film industry, given annually by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), to recognize excellence in cinematic achievements as assessed by the Academy’s voting membership.

The various category winners are awarded a golden statue, officially called the “Academy Award of Merit, also known as the Oscar.

  • The host: Jimmy Kimmel returns as host for the second consecutive year.
  • Where are the Oscars? The Dolby Theatre in Hollywood.
  • When do the festivities begin? Live From the Red Carpet: 2018 Oscars starting at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT on the streaming network PeopleTV. How to watch the Oscars online: The ceremony will be available for live streaming through ABC Go and the ABC app, but you can also watch via YouTube TV, Sling TV, DirecTV and Playstation Vue.
  • Who votes? The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and made up of more than 7,000 industry professionals in front of and behind the camera cast their ballots.
  • Who is presenting at the Oscars? Some of the big names include Mahershala Ali, Chadwick Boseman, Viola Davis, Jennifer Garner, Greta Gerwig and more.
  • Who are the nominees? “The Shape of Water” leads the pack with 13 nods, while “Dunkirk” and “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” follow behind with eight and seven, respectively.

You can catch the 90th Oscars ceremony Sun., Mar. 4 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT only on ABC.

Related:

What do you think? Discuss this story with fellow Project Casting fans on Facebook. On Twitter, follow us at @projectcasting.